Juneau-Douglas HS narrowly wins Alaska Tsunami Bowl

Team Pogonophoraphobia of Juneau-Douglas High School are the 2013 Alaska Tsunami Bowl champions.

In one of the closest finishes in the last 16 years, Juneau-Douglas High School “Team Pogonophoraphobia” edged out the Mat-Su Career & Technical High School team “Mat-Tsunamis” to win the 16th annual Alaska Tsunami Bowl over the weekend. The top two teams were tied when they faced off in the championship round. High school students traveled to Seward from 15 Alaskan communities to compete in the contest of ocean knowledge held Feb. 8 – 10.

“Team Pogonophoraphobia” members Johnny Connolly, Johnny Elliott, Sam Kurland, Olivia Raster and Ruby Steedle won an all expenses paid trip to represent Alaska in the national competition in Milwaukee, Wi. in April, as well as tuition waivers from University of Alaska Southeast. The members of the “Mat-Tsunamis” Christopher Erickson, Ariel Hasse, Lucas Hyce, Reno Hyce and Courtney Monroe also won tuition waivers from UAS for taking second place.

The "Mat-Tsunamis" team from Mat-Su Career & Technical High School in Wasilla.

The contest consisted of two components – a research project and timed quiz bowl style matches. It is the regional competition of the National Ocean Sciences Bowl, a program of the Consortium for Ocean Leadership, and is supported by numerous Alaskan entities, including UAF School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences.

Cordova’s “Tenacious Dawgsharks” won the top score in the research project component of the competition and the “Hutchison Hammerheads” from Fairbanks were recognized as this year’s most improved team.

Icicle Seafoods, Inc. awarded $5000 scholarships to the University of Alaska Fairbanks to five competitors: Jacinta Matthias from Kotlik, Jessica Mateer-Olson from Ketchikan, Kevin Huynh from Dutch Harbor, and Daniel Cardenas and Tyler Lantiegne from Petersburg.

Icicle Seafoods scholarship recipients: Jacinta Matthias from Kotlik, Jessica Mateer-Olson from Ketchikan, Kevin Huynh from Dutch Harbor, and Tyler Lantiegne and Daniel Cardenas from Petersburg.

Students from the following schools participated in the competition: Cordova High School, Dillingham High School, Hutchison High School, Homer High School, Juneau-Douglas High School, Kenny Lake School, Ketchikan High School, Kodiak High School, Kotlik School, Kotzebue High School, Mat-Su Career & Technical High School, Petersburg High School, Scammon Bay School, Seward High School, Thunder Mountain High School, Unalaska City High School, and Wasilla High School.


This entry was posted in SMC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>