Fisheries graduate student receives prestigious NSF fellowship

The National Science Foundation awarded two University of Alaska Fairbanks graduate students and a UAF alumnus with its prestigious 2015 Graduate Research Fellowships. School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences doctoral student Wendel Raymond is one of the recipients.

Wendel Raymond

SFOS Fisheries doctoral student Wendel Raymond.

The fellowships, which this year went to 2,000 of the 16,500 applicants nationally, provide three years of support to master’s and doctoral students who have made significant contributions to science or engineering. The fellows will receive a $34,000 annual stipend and a $12,000 cost-of-education allowance.

Raymond, a fisheries student based at the Lena Point facility in Juneau, is advised by professor Ginny Eckert. He is interested in investigating species interactions and how they contribute to community and ecosystem change. Raymond’s doctoral studies will also explore how sea otters are affecting nearshore communities, especially in association with eelgrass ecosystems. He plans to characterize the biological communities associated with eelgrass beds including fishes, invertebrates, and algae through survey, stable isotope and experimental techniques. UAF Alaska Sea Grant funds his current research.

Wendel Raymond field photo

SFOS Fisheries doctoral student Wendel Raymond at work in the field.

NSF established the fellowship program in 1952 as a way to help graduate students who are early in their career and show great potential. The program aims to ensure the vitality and diversity of the scientific and engineering workforce of the United States.

In addition to Raymond, Douglas Brinkerhoff and Jonathan Nations of UAF College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics were selected to receive the merit-based scholarships.

CONTACT: Sharice Walker, 907-474-7208,

This entry was posted in Fisheries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>